Skip to content

Motor Vehicle Supplemental

Files & Documents >> Department Documents >> Tax Collector >> Motor Vehicle Supplemental >> Motor Vehicle Supplemental
MEMORIAL DAY PARADE CANCELLED; VETERANS BREAKFAST (9:00 a.m.) & CEREMONY (10:00 a.m.) BEING HELD AT CANTON HIGH SCHOOL 

 

Updated Budget Process Schedule

 

Absentee Ballot Information for Referendum 

 

INSTRUCTIONS: Change the folder ID below to match the sub-folder you wish to use as sub-pages/sub-navigation. DO NOT USE THIS WITH THE "Generic Single-Column" TEMPLATE.




Supplemental motor vehicle bills are due January 1st and cover vehicles registered between October 2nd and July 31st of each year. To avoid a penalty, payment must be postmarked, hand-delivered or made online by the first business day of February. Payments made after the first business day of February will incur interest at the rate of 1.5% per month calculated back to the January 1st due date (February interest is 3%; 1.5% for January, 1.5% for February). Taxes are collectible for 15 years from the due date in the State of Connecticut.

Please note:

If the Assessor provides an adjusted assessment based on sufficient documentation of the disposal of your vehicle, the adjusted tax must be paid in full by the first business day in February; there are no exceptions.
These taxes are pro-rated from the month registered through September at the following percentages of assessed value:

Month Acquired
New License Plate Code
Transfer License Plate Code
% of Assessment
October  A N 100%
November B O 91.7%
December C P 83.3%
January D Q 75%
February E R 66.7%
March F S 58.3%
April G T 50%
May H U 41.7%
June I V 33.3%
July J W 25%

 

DEADLINE FOR PRESENTATION OF PROOF FOR ADJUSTMENT
It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to provide the required documentation within the time limits as provided under applicable Connecticut law.

The Department of Motor Vehicles does not inform towns when plates are returned or when vehicles are sold, registered out of state or otherwise disposed of.

Assessment Date
Deadline for Presentation of Proof
October 1 December 31st 2 years later - or 27 months from the assessment date

The taxpayer forfeits any right to an adjustment of the bill as per Connecticut State Statute (12-71c), if acceptable forms of proof are not received by the Assessor by the deadline.

VIEW OR PAY MOTOR VEHICLE TAXES ONLINE

DMV Website




INSTRUCTIONS: Change the content ID below to match the "Contact Us" page you wish to reference in the "sidebar".

INSTRUCTIONS: Right-click the image below to remove it or choose "Properties...". Then click the photo icon for "Choose Image" to change the photo. You do not have to change the picture width to a percent in this right-column. DO NOT USE THIS WITH THE "Generic Single-Column" TEMPLATE.

Contact Us

Tax payments can be:

Mailed to Tax Collector, P.O. Box 168, Canton, CT 06022-0168
Paid online (a transaction fee will be charged)
Made in person when Town Hall is open (12-1pm CLOSED for lunch)

If you need DMV clearance to register a vehicle, please pay online.  Once you’ve completed the transaction, send an email to the Tax Collector, Jody Enriquez, at jenriquez@townofcantonct.org.

Any other assistance or questions should be emailed to jenriquez@townofcantonct.org or you may leave a voicemail message at (860) 693-7843.  We will do our best to respond to you as soon as possible.  Thank you for your cooperation!

 

Jodie Enriquez
Tax Collector
jenriquez@townofcantonct.org

Mailing Address: Canton Town Hall, P.O. Box 168, Collinsville, CT 06022

Location: Canton Town Hall, 4 Market Street, Collinsville, CT 06019

Phone: (860) 693-7843   (860) 693-7843  
taxcollector@townofcantonct.org

Hours
Mon, Tues, Thurs
8:15am-noon
1pm-4:30pm

Wednesday
8:15am-noon
1pm-6:45pm

Friday
8:15am-noon

 CLOSED FOR LUNCH FROM 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.