CANTON POLICE DEPARTMENT
HOSTING A PARTY?
We want you to enjoy gathering with your family and friends. However, one person’s fun can be another person’s aggravation. If you’re planning to throw a party we suggest you follow these simple guidelines.
LET US KNOW AHEAD OF TIME
Call us before your event at 860-693-0221. We’ll put your contact information on our notification log. Depending on the nature of the complaint, we may call you to resolve the matter.
CONSIDER YOUR NEIGHBORS
Remember that there may be small children, elderly or sick people in your neighborhood. It’s a good idea to let your neighbors know about your party beforehand so they can expect some extra noise.
LIMIT THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE YOU INVITE
Know your guests! Remember, you can call us if uninvited guests will not leave when asked. Open hour parties make it difficult for hosts to maintain control.
DON’T ALLOW DRUGS
We have no discretion when faced with drug possession or use.
DON’T LET DRINKING GET OUT OF CONTROL
You could be held legally responsible for the actions of the people attending your party. As the host, you should remain aware of how much alcohol your guests are consuming.
KEEP THE NOISE DOWN
Officers respond to citizen complaints. Bands, stereos, excessive yelling, singing, horn beeping…these are actions that often result in a complaint to the Police. Remember noise becomes more of a problem at night! Lower the volume of your party and chances are there will be no problem.
IF OFFICERS DO RESPOND TO A COMPLAINT AT YOUR PARTY...COOPERATE WITH THEM
We’re there to help! Officers have an obligation to investigate complaints and to enforce the law…even on your property. Listen to the officer and work together to try to correct the problem.
Serving or allowing a minor to possess alcohol is illegal.
Connecticut General Statutes Section 30-89a states in relevant part that it is a Class A misdemeanor for any person having possession of, or exercising dominion and control over, any dwelling unit or private property to (1) knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal negligence, permit any minor (person under the age of 21) to possess alcoholic liquor in such dwelling unit or on such private property, or (2) fail to make reasonable efforts to halt such possession.
Newly licensed 16-17 year old drivers are subject to a curfew from 11:00 pm to 5:30 am unless the teen driver is traveling for employment, school, religious activities, or medical necessity.
Drinking and Driving
Administrative Per Se license suspension of at least one year to any 16 or 17 year old who drives under the influence of alcohol if he or she had an elevated Blood Alcohol Content equal to or over .02. If the 16 or 17 year old refuses to submit to the test, the suspension will be 18 months.
Possession of Alcohol by Minors
Connecticut General Statute Section 30-89(b) prohibits possession of alcohol by a minor on both public and private property.
Connecticut General Statutes Section 14-111a prohibits possession by a minor of liquor in a motor vehicle.
For more information regarding any of these party tips contact:
Canton Police Department
45 River Road
Canton, CT 06019